My Ecuador Music Playlist

The struggle is real. Despite Shazam playing me and countless internet searches coming up dry, I’ve finally found the regional/Ecuadorian music I’ve been looking for and the timing couldn’t be better. This weekend marks the last weekend before we officially swear-in to become Peace Corps volunteers. It also happens to be Ecuador’s Independence Day weekend.

Throughout Pre-service Training, my favorite songs have been the perfect soundtrack to lazy Sunday mornings, long car rides and weekend get togethers with my host family. The list that follows is full of bombas (from none other than el Valle del Chota) with a dash of cumbia and more than enough reasons to make your hips shake. While not all of the songs are by Ecuadorian artists, they are inextricably tied to my experience here thus far. Fue un trabajazo encontrarlas pero aquí están…¡Qué disfruten! (It was a heck of job trying the find them but here they are… Enjoy!)

Dos Morenas, Widinson

Starting off with some Ecuadorian bombas.

El Camaleón, Widinson

Check the adorable storyline from 0:00 to 1:49.

Te Vas, Américo

Cumbia music from Chile.

Me Iré, Marabú

Couldn’t find a video featuring the actual group, but this one has the lyrics, a penguin with a top hat (1:43) and… and…. just watch :).

Una llamada, Widinson

Can you tell I like Widinson?

Dale Morena, Widinson

Dance move I’m adding to my life from 0:47 to 0:50.

Bomba Caliente, Marabú

Another Marabú song, this time with the group.

Provinciana, Widinson

Ven conmigo te invito a bailar (Come with me, I’m inviting you to dance)

Rompe Caderas, Grupo Raíces Negras

Sometimes you only need a few words: rompe caderas (break those hips)….

Doble Vida, Widinson

The accordion=everything.

El Embrujo, Américo

Ending on one last cumbia.

What’s on your playlist? Sharing is caring and I know there’s some music back home that I have yet to hear.


Other Posts You May Like:

The Origins of Chifa

The Little Things: Ecuador Edition

(Host) Family Matters


 

Leave a comment