Staying Connected While Abroad

When it rains it pours. In a literal sense this is true as the Sierra’s winter season begins in Ecuador. For the past few days, every day around 5 o’clock a clique of grey clouds dutifully congregates over Checa. Some days their presence is just a tease that puts your afternoon plans in limbo. On days like today, they mean business. Outside it’s raining at a steady clip. The window to my room is icey to the touch and every time it thunders I can feel the glass shudder in angst.

Looking at the news back home, it’s pouring in another sense. As I’m sure anyone reading this knows, over the past month and a half the US has been hit by 3 major hurricanes, aggressions from North Korea, rising controversy over ongoing protests for racial and social justice, and a mass shooting in Las Vegas. A couple days ago my host mom commented, “Hay muchas cosas pasando en tu país… (there are a lot of things going on in your country…).” To be honest, I don’t remember my response; only that it was as weak and empty as I felt in the moment.

I think part of the emptiness has to do with a sense of moral inconsistency. For me, it’s important to live in line with what you believe. If something is wrong and it’s within your capacity to change it for the better, then act. If you’re ignorant to an important issue, get informed. If you mess up, own it and do your best to make amends. While it may be wise to reflect before drawing conclusions and choosing the best course of action, apathy isn’t an option.

For this reason being in Ecuador has created a certain level of cognitive dissonance for me. In layman’s terms, it feels like a cop out. So many things impacting the safety, social and political trajectory of the US are happening right now and I’m in another country living out the product of idealistic dreams and a quarter life crisis. DAMN. #kendricklamar

These thoughts have been marinating in my brain over the past several days. I imagine some of my fellow PCVs may have similar feelings. In an effort to put my dissonance in check here there are some strategies I’m working on to stay engaged with important issues going on back home.

1. Putting My Money Where My Mouth Is

Even though my cash flow as a Peace Corp Volunteer is limited, I know I can afford to give something to support important causes. At the moment I’ve made a point of doing so in the form of monetary donations towards disaster relief funds, particularly for Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands. Giving money isn’t as sexy as donating supplies or services, but in the aftermath of a disaster it’s what first responders need most.

If you’re interested in making a donation yourself, please consider giving to Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands as well. This article from Color Lines is a starting point for finding organizations raising funds to support the two territories. Throughout my service I’d like to continue to give what I can to organizations whose causes I support. As always, suggestions are welcome!

2. Knowing Where My Vote Stands

When I left for Peace Corps this past May I had no idea where I stood in terms of voting. The presidential election was done. As much as I loathed the outcome, there was nothing I could do to change it… So what next? I knew I wanted to do my part by voting in local and state races but didn’t know if it was possible living outside of the country. During Pre-Service Training I’d tacitly put off finding the answer assuming it was probably no. This past week a quick search of the U.S. Department of State website  got me moving in the right direction. I’m happy to say that my assumption was wrong and that I’m just in time to request an absentee ballot for the municipal elections where I’m registered vote :).

3. Staying Informed and Reaching Out

Engaging with people and information as a way to stay connected is a given, but the hermit in me has been known to slack and go recluse. While there’s a time for everything, in excess you lose touch. Back home I naturally sifted through a variety of news sources without particularly having to subscribe or bookmark a ton of sites or newsletters. In the first few months of Peace Corps things are constantly changing, which means a lot of your usual habits fall to the wayside or get a serious make over. My usual routine for keeping up with current events has been one of the casualities. Now, I’m realizing I need the subscriptions and built in updates and have made changes accordingly.

The same is true for friends and family. I promise I’m not dead or secretly mad at you. I just suck at staying in touch. If something happy, sad, amusing or weird is happening don’t hesitate to message me–I’d love to hear from you! On my part, I’ll be more intentional about seeing how people are doing.

4. Virtual Volunteering

This last item is the least fully formed. Before joining Peace Corps I’d had a positive experience experimenting with virtual volunteer assignments. It gave me the chance to donate my time in a flexible way and utilize professional skills I was interested in keeping up with on the side. I’m toying with doing the same with my downtime here in Ecuador. I know, I know. Why volunteer more when that’s what I’m already doing?!? But all the same I’d like to contribute to some low-key projects remotely as another way to stay connected to life outside of my Peace Corp bubble.

Mentally, I’m trying to prioritize and find some peace of mind amidst a climate full of unrest. Hopefully this list can be of help for anyone else who may be in a similar head space. As crummy as it feels to be away I know my decision to serve in Peace Corps doesn’t mean I’ve checked out from engaging with important issues in the US…at least not if I don’t let it.


Other Posts You May Like:

Site Placement Jitters

Staging Butterflies


 

Leave a comment